RSS Feed

Celebrating Me, Days 1 and 2

So, I’m taking the month of June off from the Escape Adulthood Challenges. This month I will be annihilating Adultitis by celebrating myself every single day. For, you see, my birthday is tomorrow and I just don’t think celebrating one day is going to do it this year. Nope. Not a chance. So I’m going to consider every day as my birthday during the month I was born. I have no doubt that this month 32 years ago brought the utmost joy to my mother – a joy that nothing has surpassed since. And now I’m going to give myself the same joy.

What inspired me to do this? Kim and Jason, of course! A few weeks back, Kim blogged about birthdays – how and why to make them more memorable. It got me thinking… I’ll be officially 32 tomorrow (I’ve been saying I’m 32 since March. I don’t know why I do that, but I do it every year. I guess it helps me get used to being 1 year older…) and I didn’t know how to celebrate. My closest friends live out of state, and it’s always been difficult for me to find a way to make a memory with people that I haven’t made memories with before. Where do I begin?

I decided to throw myself a party and invite people I know and like, and people I’m beginning to know and like. It was just going to be a party – until I visited my best pal Isaac last weekend. We exchanged birthday gifts while I was there, and part of their gifts to me was pirate party decor: a “happy birthday” sign, a ship centerpiece, pirate noisemakers, and even theme music. So my party turned into a pirate festivity! I’ve spent much of this evening preparing for the party, and I’ll tell you all about it on Saturday!

But here’s what I’ve done to celebrate me so far:

June 1, 2011

I took a nap. A 2 hour nap. It was lovely! I shut out the world and relaxed. Ahhh!

The Sweet Tooth Fairy Cupcakes

June 2, 2011

I went to the Sweet Tooth Fairy and got 2 dozen cupcakes to share with my co-workers. When you order a dozen, they really give you a baker’s dozen. Surprise! So fun, and I got one of each kind! Of course, halfway to work I thought to myself “Self, there are only 6 teachers, 5 assistants, 1 director and 1 you. You only needed one baker’s dozen.” Oh, well. More for me! (And my family and guests tomorrow night.) Many of the teachers hadn’t had cupcakes from the Sweet Tooth Fairy before and were amazed! One teacher said “We opened the box and angels began to sing!” Another said “I had the peanut butter cup one. Best cupcake I’ve ever had! Thank you for being born.” And while I was trying to help a teacher plan her curriculum, she said “Wait, I’m having a moment with my cupcake.”

3 responses »

  1. Happy belated Birthday, Amy!!! I LOVE your idea of celebrating yourself every single day this month. You are SUCH a rockin’ example for all of those fighting Adultitis out there (and who isn’t fighting it, really?!). Hope your first 13 days have gone great. Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  2. Amy,
    I love this idea! I always think my birthday is too short – and I usually try to celebrate for a week. But a whole month, now that’s inspired. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

