RSS Feed

Challenge #13: Backyard Adventurer

Challenge #13: Spend 10 minutes outside doing something that you have never done before.

This one was hard for me. I thought about it all day yesterday. What was I going to do? One problem is that I love being outside when the weather is nice, which it finally is now, so there’s not a lot that I haven’t done. Another problem was that some things I haven’t done that I would like to try even if only once, such as fishing (catch and release – I don’t eat fish), I don’t have the resources or friends to do. And yet another problem is that today is Sunday. As per my religion I make it a point to not spend money on Sundays, and I have church and family obligations which made time a factor as well. While I do hope one day someone will take pity on this city girl and take her on some kind of outdoor adventure (within reason – baby steps with me), today just wasn’t the day.

So since I went running this morning and I’ve never been on a run on a Sunday before I thought maybe I’d count that. But then I thought that was kind of  a cop out. But then I got a little creative. The challenge didn’t say it had to be something active. Just something I’ve never done before. So after my run, I took my breakfast out on my balcony and ate in the beautiful morning sunlight. Yes, I’ve eaten breakfast outside before – at girl’s camp when I had no choice. This morning eating outside was something I wanted to do. I decided to make a childlike breakfast as well – cinnamon toast and chocolate milk. (I have this theory that calories don’t count on the weekends.)

Sunday mornings are typically quiet around here (Utah, I mean). Even folks who have church at 9:00 aren’t up in time to be there even 5 minutes early. So I pretty much had the outdoors to myself. It was so peaceful, warm and beautiful! I snapped some pictures of my view from my balcony and basked in the sun once I cleaned my plate. I enjoyed every minute!

I love the mountains!!

Oh! And for those of you who may have missed it, I was featured in a recent Kim & Jason blog! Check it out! I’m pretty much famous now. That’s right.

Leave a Reply

